Guys, maybe it’s time you clammed up

Today, we are going to do a little marriage counseling, restoring tranquility and harmony to a trio of Valley households torn by controversy, plagued by discord and disputes that threaten to rend asunder the fabric of matrimonial happiness.

Or something like that.

I wonder if you could help us. My husband believes that leaving the window blinds open to let in the natural light keeps the room cooler than if you keep the blinds closed and turn on task lighting/overhead lights. I believe the latter to be the more effective means to keeping a room cool. As a result, we follow each other around the house, turning on/off lights and/or opening/closing blinds, cursing the other person.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I don’t know where you women find these guys.

Closing the blinds or curtains helps keep the house cooler by blocking the radiant heat of the sun. It’s that simple.

For your part, you should be turning off the lights and ceiling fans in rooms that aren’t in use. A ceiling fan cools you by speeding evaporation of moisture from your skin. If no one is in the room, it’s just burning energy.

Wives, 1, husbands, 0.

Whenever I let my husband do the grocery shopping he buys brown eggs. He always says they are “more natural” than white eggs. I say there’s no difference. Please advise.

White eggs come from white chickens, white Leghorns, mostly. Brown eggs come from red or brown chickens, Barred Rocks or Rhode Island Reds, mostly.

Other than that, they are exactly the same thing.

The hens that lay brown eggs produce a pigment that colors the shell as the egg grows in the chicken.

Wives, 2, husbands, 0.

OK, guys, if you pull this one out you will at least avoid a sweep.

My husband and I take several car trips a year, and we always have the same argument. He says mileage signs give the mileage to the city limits. I say they tell how far it is to the center of the city. I’d like to get this settled once and for all.

Mileage signs generally give the distance to some central-city landmark, such as a city hall or a post office.

That’s just as well. With all the annexations by various cities and towns around the area over the years, the highway crews would be constantly changing the mileage signs.

Wives, 3, husbands, 0.

Sorry, guys.

Reach Thompson at clay.thompson@arizonarepublic.com or (602) 444-8612.

*Clay Thompson writes for The Arizona Republic. You can read his column by going to www.azcentral.com

Leave a comment